ABOUT US

Kanthitu was born in 2018, and was created by Sadat Ahmad Titu from Sylhet, Bangladesh, with the support of Mathilde Foyer.

The Kanthitu Project started from a wish: to promote the traditions of Kantha embroidery, still practiced in Bangladesh, while developing a human project that makes sense!

 

 

KANTHA

 

Originally, Kantha is the art of recycling saris, assembling them into a blanket. To make the layers fit together, women make embroidery stitches, in line or in the form of patterns, and assemble all the layers of saris.  The Kanthitu project is to promote these embroidery techniques, so that the tradition of Kantha embroidery does not fade away!

 

 

A PROJECT WITH A HUMAN DIMENSION

 

The human aspect for us is, working with a community of women in Sylhet and its surroundings. These women are, for most of them, housewives, taking care of the children and the tasks inherent in running their homes.  We enable them to have additional income to support the household, while being able to work from home, and another important point, at their own pace! They embroider Kanthas when they have time! We do not impose any rhythm on them. Some will take a week and others several, what counts is that they can work when they want.

 

 

RECYCLING!

 

We wanted to add meaning to the project by working with textile materials that are only recycled and upcycled materials! We absolutely want to keep this tradition of Kantha and work exclusively with recycled saris, or scraps of fabric recovered from a dressmaker in Sylhet. 

IMG_3121.jpg
IMG_3114.JPG

À PROPOS

Kanthitu est né en 2018, et a été créé par Sadat Ahmad Titu, originaire de Sylhet au Bangladesh, avec le soutien de Mathilde Foyer.

Le projet Kanthitu est parti d'un souhait : celui de promouvoir les traditions de broderie Kantha, encore très pratiquée au Bangladesh, tout en développant un projet humain et qui ait du sens !

LE KANTHA

A l'origine, le Kantha, c'est l'art de recycler les saris, de les assembler pour en faire une couverture. Pour que les épaisseurs puissent tenir entre elles, les femmes font des points de broderie, en ligne ou sous forme de motifs, et assemblent toutes les épaisseurs de saris.  Le projet Kanthitu, c'est valoriser ces techniques de broderie, pour que la tradition des broderies Kantha ne s'évanouisse pas !

L'HUMAIN DANS TOUT CA

L'aspect humain c'est, pour nous, travailler avec une communauté de femmes de Sylhet et ses environs. Ces femmes sont, pour la plupart, femmes au foyer, s'occupant des enfants et des tâches inhérentes à la tenue de leur maison.  Nous leur permettons d'avoir des revenus complémentaires pour soutenir le foyer, tout en pouvant travailler de chez elle, et très important, à leur rythme ! Elles brodent les Kanthas quand elles ont le temps ! Nous ne leur imposons aucun rythme. Certaines mettront une semaine et d'autres plusieurs, ce qui compte c'est qu'elles puissent travailler quand elles le souhaitent.

RECYCLONS !

Nous souhaitions rajouter du sens au projet en travaillant avec des matériaux textiles uniquement recylés et upcyclés ! Nous tenons absolument à garder cette tradition du Kantha et travaillons exclusivement à partir de saris recyclés, ou de chutes de tissu récupérées chez un couturier de Sylhet. 

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Instagram - Black Circle

© 2020 par Kanthitu. Créé avec Wix.com